2011 Arkansas Volunteer Community of the Year Award

Bentonville, AR… Mayor Bob McCaslin is pleased to announce the City of Bentonville has been named a 2011 Volunteer Community of the Year. Other communities being honored this year are Benton, Booneville, Clarkridge, Clarksville, Fayetteville, Fort Smith, Heber Springs, Maumelle, Mountain Home, Quitman and Van Buren.

Co-sponsored by the DHS Division of Volunteerism, the Arkansas Municipal League and the Office of the Governor, the award is designed to congratulate and thank communities for their collective effort(s) to serve their neighbors. Communities chosen for the award will receive signs from the Arkansas Highway and Transportation Department designating their city as a “Volunteer Community of the Year”. The signs will be placed at the City’s borders. The Division of Volunteerism and the Arkansas Municipal League will present the awards to the winners at a luncheon on January 12, 2012, during the League’s Winter Conference.

The Arkansas Department of Human Services, Division of Volunteerism, promotes and supports volunteerism in the private, nonprofit and governmental sectors as a means of enhancing the quality of life for all Arkansans. The City of Bentonville, with the help of 36 organizations, reported 11,535 individuals gave 221,462 hours of service to our community. These hours are valued at more than $4.6 million and represent a generous gift to our community.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *