Siloam Springs – 2014 Arkansas Community of the Year

Siloam Springs was named Welcome to Arkansas Community of the Year at the 40th Annual Governor’s Conference on Tourism in Rogers.

Arkansas Tourism Director Joe David Rice presented the award to Siloam Springs Chamber of Commerce President Wayne Mays, Co-Chair Christina Drake and Welcome Center Manager Betty Ross, who accepted a plaque on behalf of the community.

Siloam Springs - Arkansas Community of the Year Left to Right: Wayne Mays, Scott Sudduth, Christina Drake, Betty Ross, Joe David Rice

“Siloam Springs has vigorously implemented Welcome to Arkansas principles and additional training opportunities,” Mays said of Siloam Springs’ involvement in the program, “Locally certified trainers now host biennial Welcome to Arkansas training sessions for our front-line personnel, and have created a powerpoint for these presentations that features photos and information about these points of interest to take training attendees on a ‘virtual tour’ of Siloam Springs’ best attractions.”

“We have taken the principles of the Welcome to Arkansas program to heart, and have used it as a leading development tool for furthering tourism and quality of life improvements in our community,” Mays said.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *